Transactis tax credit cock up!

So…I’ve been keeping my beady little on Transactis the company HMRC have engaged the services of to deal with tax credit claims and here is an example of one of their cock ups during the trial period;

Company’s typo meant Fife mum faced losing tax credits

A Ladybank mother of four has hit out at a private company being trialled to investigate tax credit claims after it threatened to cut off her benefits over a spelling mistake.

Vicky Donald said Transactis, the company which is being trialled for three months by HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) to check claims for error and fraud, demanded she provide official documents after it noticed a “discrepancy” in her information.

The error was a spelling mistake in her daughter’s middle name — because Transactis had replaced Kirsty with ‘Ilirsty’.

Mrs Donald said: “That isn’t even a name. It was obviously their mistake which wasn’t my fault but they just told me rules are rules.”

To fix the discrepancy, Mrs Donald was told to provide an official letter with the correct spellings of her children’s full names, their birthdays and proof they live with Mrs Donald and her husband.

After exploring many options, Mrs Donald said the only way she could provide the information needed by the deadline was to asker her GP for a letter, which would cost £25 a child.

She said: “If I didn’t reply by June 18 they would suspend my tax credits and put a claim against me for the benefits I have received in the last year.

“They put me in the position where I could either pay £100 now or lose my benefits. If it had been my mistake I wouldn’t have been upset but this was clearly a typo Transactis made.”

A spokesman for HMRC said Transactis, a customer insight, data management and anti-fraud services business, was being trialled from May to July.

Since being contacted by the Courier, both Transactis and HMRC have contacted Mrs Donald and the spelling mistake has been corrected. She said it was unfair that other people could be placed in similar situations.

The HMRC spokesman said: “HMRC are determined to reduce the amount of error and fraud in the tax credits system.

“To help tackle this, HMRC have begun a short-term trial using additional external resource to work alongside HMRC staff, and ensure claims information is accurate.”

 

 

 

Reposted from the Fife Courier

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transactis tax credit cock up!

  1. Here’s a post from a consumer site dedicated to tax credits…contrast the difference between the Transactis staff and the HMRC staff and the problems that Transactis left in their wake;

    My 6 weeks was up last Friday so left til today and called – helpline lady conceded I needed to ring an 0845 number – googled it – was Transactis but they are no longer dealing any cases and it now all HMRC on the 03000 number in Liverpool – called there – she said award was inhibited as Transactis claim to have sent letter in May (that never arrived) to query parental responsibility! She thinks it was because I had my third baby in only March this year and by May the C/Benefit info possibly hadn’t been updated (although Id had my c/benefit amended for the new baby within 3 weeks of the birth!) so she checked the child benefit system and could see the children listed under my NI number whilst I was on phone and very kindly removed the inhibit signal on the award so expecting my final award in a week or so! She did say they had been inundated by follow up calls as Transactis had made life more difficult for them and many letters had not even made it to people!! But she was lovely and very helpful. So fingers crossed I’m on the way to being sorted! Wonder why the other helpline operatives couldn’t see/didn’t tell me that Transactis had supposedly sent a letter in May, but at least that should hopefully be it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

