Time to write to Olivier De Schutter?

Who is Olivier De Schutter, I hear you ask.

I didn’t know who he was either until I did a bit of research after reading a post by Mike Sivier over on the Vox Political blog

http://mikesivier.wordpress.com/2014/06/15/if-the-dwp-reckons-its-getting-decisions-right-why-are-people-still-suffering/

It made me feel sick … to read that a mentally ill man was reduced to eating a paste of flour and water.

I’ll say that again EATING A PASTE OF FLOUR AND WATER!!!!!

All this is due to mandatory reconsideration by the DWP. Basically; DWP say you are fit for work (and it IS the DWP that make that decision not ATOS or anyone else) you appeal that decision and DWP carry out a mandatory reconsideration (your case is looked at by yet another unqualified DWP employee, allegedly unconnected with your original claim)….there’s no time limit on this review by the way. They can take as long as they like to carry it out.

In the meantime, you can claim JSA. You try to do that, but they say you are not well enough to be actively seeking work so you exist with no money in the meantime.

When I read Mikes post, I thought, this CANNOT be right; expecting people to manage with no money for food etc. It MUST be a breach of Human Rights… and it is

“The right to have regular, permanent and unrestricted access, either directly or by means of financial purchases, to quantitatively and qualitatively adequate and sufficient food corresponding to the cultural traditions of the people to which the consumer belongs, and which ensure a physical and mental, individual and collective, fulfilling and dignified life free of fear.”[13]

and this is where Olivier De Schutter comes in. He is the UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to food

http://www.srfood.org/en/right-to-food

You can actually write to him if there have been “violations” regarding the right to food.

I honestly think that if the individual or those involved with them wrote to him about things like benefit sanctions and mandatory reconsiderations, leaving those individuals in a position where they were unable to purchase food, then action would be taken against this inhumane government, who see fit to deprive it’s citizens of one of their most basic rights.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Time to write to Olivier De Schutter?

  1. sdbast says:

    Reblogged this on sdbast.

    Like

  2. Mike Sivier says:

    Reblogged this on Vox Political and commented:
    When you’ve read this article you’ll know why I can’t be expected NOT to reblog it.

    Like

  3. I have just e mailed my MP – Jenny Willott Lib Dem MP for Cardiff Central to bring this matter to her attention and to ask her what she’s going to do about it.

    Dear Jenny,

    I hope you don’t mind me writing to you, but I was so incensed by what I have just heard, that I felt compelled to contact you.

    You may or may not be aware that Sheila Gilmore recently secured a debate on work capability assessments.

    http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201415/cmhansrd/cm140616/debtext/140616-0003.htm#14061637000003

    To summarise, if an individual is deemed fit for work by DWP (despite that their GP and NHS consultant saying that they are not) they can appeal and are then subject to a “mandatory reconsideration by the DWP. There is no time limit on this, it was supposed to only take 2 weeks, but is currently taking between 7 – 10 weeks. In the meantime, the individual can claim JSA, but if they are not able to be classed as actively seeking work, then they cannot claim JSA.

    http://mikesivier.wordpress.com/2014/06/15/if-the-dwp-reckons-its-getting-decisions-right-why-are-people-still-suffering/

    This leaves the individual with no means of financial support and I have to say that I was sickened to read that a mentally ill person was surviving on FLOUR AND WATER PASTE.

    In this day and age that is without exception absolutely disgusting.

    I believe that the time has come to contact Olivier De Schutter, the UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food to inform him of the violations taking place.

    http://www.srfood.org/en/addressing-violations

    I trust that as a member of the Coalition government, you will take this matter forward and inform me of the outcome.

    Kind regards

    Mrs G M

    Like

  4. Johannah Buchan says:

    Last time I emailed my MP I got a stock noncommittal reply so he probably didn’t even read it. That was about ILF so I doubt if this would be any different. Also,am I being dim? I can’t see from the link how to contact the UN Rapporteur.

    Like

  5. che says:

    Good for you

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on amnesiaclinic and commented:
    Awaiting a reply from my MP. Now, I wonder why the tories want to come out of the Human rights commission…

    Like

  7. jaypot2012 says:

    Reblogged this on Jay's Journal and commented:
    I too will be writing…

    Like

  8. jaynel62 says:

    Great post l time for letters in Numbers I hope xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

