Labour leadership elections 2015

GB - WIN_20150619_165411

Please note, that I am in NO WAY telling you who you should vote for, if indeed you are voting, which I hope you are; this is just my opinion, for what it’s worth!

As a fully paid up, card carrying member of the Labour Party, I received my ballot paper to vote for the Labour Leader and the Deputy Leader.

As you can probably guess (if you read my blog), my number 1 candidate for Labour leader was already sewn up!

https://glynismillward189.wordpress.com/2015/08/12/croeso-i-corbyn/

However, in the interest of fairness, I decided to read the other candidates “mission statement” in the booklet that accompanied my ballot papers.

Andy Burnham made no mention of the tory austerity programme affecting millions of UK citizens. Cheerio Andy

Yvette Cooper said “it’s not enough to be angry at the world …” (little dig at Jeremy Corbyn there methinks – I don’t like it when one candidate is disparaging of another) ‘Bye Yvette

Liz Kendall said “I’m standing to be Labours first woman leader ….” she went on to say other things too, but I stopped reading after that first sentence. I have nothing against women, I’m one after all! I just don’t agree with some women using their gender as a reason why you should vote for them. People should be judged on their own merit and not whether they’re a man or a woman! So long Liz.

So I voted for Jeremy Corbyn for leader because he said “… I voted against the Welfare Bill and as leader, I would campaign alongside you for a movement against the pain inflicted on all our communities by this government” … and that is why I voted for him.

I voted for Tom Watson as deputy, on account of his stance on the Data Retention & Investigatory Powers (DRIP) bill

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jul/22/drip-surveillance-law-legal-challenge-civil-liberties-campaigners

… the hacking scandal;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-14043436

and the child abuse enquiry:-

http://www.tom-watson.co.uk/2014/09/the-child-abuse-inquiry/

So I have chosen two candidates, who as far as I am concerned are credible, compassionate and genuine.

This entry was posted in Labour leadership election 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Labour leadership elections 2015

  1. stilloaks says:

    Reblogged this on DWPExamination. and commented:
    Corbyn? Hell Yeah!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeffrey davies says:

    spot on jc it is

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paul Browning says:

    What amazes me is that Labour have unexpectedly found themselves with a candidate who resonates with a wide range of people – including many ex-Labour voters like myself – but the party hierarchy seem intent on trying to spike his campaign.

    Blair, Brown, Mandleshon… three of the main reasons I stopped voting Labour.

    Corbyn…the one reason I might start again.

    Bottom line, Labour – no Corbyn, no vote.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely agree with you Paul. The only conclusion I can come to as to why some of the other leadership candidates and the more right wing (tory lite – in my opinion) factions of the Labour party are disparaging of Mr Corbyn is that they wish to defend their own bailiwick and they know if (when?) Corbyn gets in he’ll be having none of that.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jaynel62 says:

    With you all the way on Corbyn but Watson – not so sure about xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Labour leadership elections 2015 | Welfare, Dis...

Leave a Reply

