I’m fucking terrified!

Excellent article by Chris Brosnahan which sums up things perfectly.

On twitter last night, I said “An MP gets stabbed and shot by someone shouting “Britain First” on the day UKIP copies Nazi propaganda. This is terrifying.” Someone accused me of trying to make political gain. This was my response.

I’ve just been accused of trying to make political gain out of Jo Cox’s death. As opposed to the reality, something I don’t say often. The reality is that I am fucking terrified of what is happening in this country.

When Farage started becoming part of the media’s story of this country, I thought ‘this guy is scary’. I thought ineffective. But scary.

When Boris Johnson started being taken seriously as a politician, I thought ‘this guy is scary’. Again, ineffective. But scary.

But the BNP terrified me. Nick Griffin terrified me because he sounded reasonable. Not the things he said. But the way he said them.

In exactly the same way as Johnson and Farage, I was scared of good talkers who some people liked, who others wrote off as ‘funny’. Shit, I wrote them off as funny at times. But at the same time, I was aware that the more seriously they were taken, the scarier they were.

Read rest of article by clicking on link below:

https://medium.com/@ChrisBrosnahan/im-fucking-terrified-7057458c704#.omonr523r

View story at Medium.com

View story at Medium.com

View story at Medium.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m fucking terrified!

  1. Pingback: I’m fucking terrified! — The lovely wibbly wobbly old lady | Jay's Journal

  2. jaynel62 says:

    Loved this post, thanks for the link xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

